National Socialist Council of Nagaland-Khaplang (NSCN-K)




Founded: January 1st,1980

Headquarters: Taga, Naga Self-Administered Zone, Sagaing Region.

Active Regions: Lahe, Lashe, Nanyun (Sagaing Region).

Size: Under 500

Chairman – S. S. Khaplang

Secretary – Dali Mangru Ao

The Naga National Socialist Council (NSCN), formed in 1980 in Sagaing Region and northeastern India, split into two groups, NSCN-K and NSCN-IM in 1988. The NSCN-K led by S. S. Khaplang, is based in Lahe, Lashe, Hkamti, and Nanyun townships in Sagaing Region, while the NSCN-IM led by Isak Chisi Swu, is based in India. Under the 2008 constitution, Lahe, Lashe, and Nanyun townships, where the groups are active, were declared the self-governing region of Naga. The group signed a ceasefire agreement at the regional level under the U Thein Sein administration on April 9th, 2012.

During the National League for Democracy (NLD) government, the NSCN-K participated in the 21st Century Panglong – Union Peace Conference as an observer and held some peace talks. On January 29th, 2019, about 400 troops from the Northwestern Command’s Hkamti Tactical Battalion-6 entered the Taga area where the NSCN-K headquarters is located, and the group wrote to the Commander-in-Chief of the Tatmadaw and State Counselor, demanding the withdrawal of troops. However, the military announced in early February 2019 that it would take action against the NSCN-K for violating the peace agreement it signed with the government.

The NSCN-K issued a statement on May 27th, 2019, saying that the military’s hostile actions could confuse the government’s ceasefire efforts.
The NSCN-K has not been visibly active following the February 2021 military coup, but the local People’s Defence Force in the Naga Self-Administered Zone, which emerged during the Spring Revolution has issued warnings to the military junta in Naga region.

Ceasefires and Peace Process
12 nd EAO to sign a ceasefire agreement
Step 1 – State-level ceasefire agreement (9 April 2012)
Conflics after ceasefire – None
Official Representative Team – None

Chairman – S. S. Khaplang
Secretary – Darli Man Garu O
Chief of military staffs – Kho Li Kun Yet

Liaison Offices
Khamti, Sagaing Region

Ceasefire & Peace Process

12th ceasefire signing group.
Stage 1: State level ceasefire 9 Apr 2012
Post Ceasefire Agreement: none
Official Delegation Team: N/A



Official delegation team


Liaison offices

Khamti, Sagaing Region


 #  Date  Location  Armed Group Rep  Govt Rep  Details
1 09/04/2012 Khamti, Sagaing Region Y. Wangtin Naga and six others Sagaing Region Minister for Security and Border Affairs, Col Kyi Naing State-level
5 points ceasefire
Other govt delegates: Sagaing Chief Minister U Tha Aye
2 16/08/2013 MPC, Yangon 4 representatives from NSCN-K U Aung Min NSCN-k leaders discussed about to open a liaison office in Khamti and local development in their area.


The five points of the truce include:
(1) Cessation of armed conflict with the Myanmar army April 9, 2012
(2) Opening of a liaison office by NSCN-K at Khamti to facilitate further talks
(3) Coordination among both sides for carrying arms beyond their agreed jurisdiction
(4) Freedom of movement of unarmed NSCN-K cadres within Myanmar
(5) Holding of sustained negotiations.

Reference: Deciphering Myanmar’s Peace Process – A Reference Guide (2021 – 2022)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here