Arakan Liberation Party/Army (ALP/ALA)




Founded: 9th April, 1967 (First time), 1st June, 1974 (Second time)

Headquarters: India-Myanmar Border

Active Territories: Northern Rakhine State and Kayin State.

Strength: About 100

Chairman – Khaing Ye Khaing

Military Chief – Brig-Gen Khaing Min Soe

General Secretary – Khaing Kyaw Khaing

The Arakan Liberation Party/Army (ALP/ALA) adheres to the policy “The enemy weapons are our weapons”. The group signed a state-level ceasefire on April 5th, 2012 and was one of the groups that signed the Nationwide Ceasefire Agreement (NCA) on October 15th, 2015 with the U Thein Sein administration. The ALP/ALA participated in the Myanmar peace process along with 10 other ethnic armed groups.

In 2019, fighting between the Arakan Army and the Tatmadaw (military) intensified throughout Rakhine State. The ALP expressed grave concern over the destruction of the homes of ethnic minority families living in the state, and the destruction of ancient cultural heritage. The group appealed to both sides to exercise extreme caution so that no civilians would be killed or injured by the conflict.

The ALP, which lost its headquarters in clashes with the Arakan Army(AA) near the India-Myanmar border in 2016 and 2017, would like to resolve the political crisis through dialogue.
The ALP strongly believes that the root cause of the conflict in Rakhine State is a political one that can be resolved through the provisions of the NCA and not armed force.

Following the February 2021 military coup, there were meetings between the ALP and the State Administration Council (SAC). The group participated in the junta’s 6th anniversary of the signing of the NCA. Since then, there have been leadership changes within the ALP.

Informal meetings have taken place between the Arakan Liberation Party/Arakan Liberation Army (ALP/ALA) and the National Solidarity and Peacemaking Committee (NSPNC) of the military council since the coup. Delegations led by Vice-Chairman Daw Saw Mra Razar Lin attended events such as Union Day celebrations, including the sixth anniversary of the signing of the Nationwide Ceasefire Agreement (NCA), which was spearheaded by the military council.

However, on 5 March 2023, Daw Saw Mra Yazar Lin declared the reorganization of the ALP, citing “differences over the path forward”. She assumed the role of chairperson in the new grouping, with Khaing Ni Yaung as vice-chairperson and a group of secretaries consisting of U Aung Lwin, Major Khaing Thurein, Major Khaing Hla Myint, and Major Saw Su Sonedi Aung.

On 20 March 2023, Khaing Kyaw Khaing, the ALP general secretary, issued a statement to clarify that Daw Saw Mra Yazar Lin’s party reorganization had no legitimacy. On 16 February 2023, without accepting the suspension of her duties as head of the political negotiation committee and the Peace Process Steering Team (PPST) to investigate the arrest of ALP/ALA’s deputy military chief Brig-Gen Khaing Min Soe and two other soldiers by the military regime, she had declared the “reorganization of the party.” Therefore, ALP General Secretary Khaing Kyaw Khaing clarified in the statement that Daw Saw Mra Yazar Lin was no longer affiliated with the ALP.

On 1 July 2023, outside the University of Sittwe, three members of the faction headed by Daw Saw Mra Yazar Lin – Vice-chair Khaing Ni Yong, battalion commander Khaing Kyaw Min and soldier Kyaw Kyaw Naing from Battalion (101) – were killed. The assassins have not yet been identified.

The current situation within the ALP/ALA remains complicated. Former chairperson Daw Saw Mra Yazar Lin remains part of the PPST representing the ALP and continues to engage in talks with the military council. At the same time, the role and activities of the original ALP/ALA which endorsed the formation of the Karenni State Interim Executive Council (IEC) will also have to be monitored.

Ceasefires and Peace Process
State/Union-Level Ceasefire – April 5, 2012

Peace Negotiations
NCA – Signing: October 15, 2015

Official Representative Team
Daw Saw Mya Yar Zar Lin (UPDJC)
Armed Wing – Arakan Liberation Army (ALA)

Military Affairs
Military Chief – Khaing Ye Khaing
Lt-Col Khaing Soe Naing
Major Khaing Myo Win
Major Khaing Phone Myint Zaw (Commander of Ramawaddy Battalion)
Major Khaing Nay Min (Deputy Commander of Ramawaddy Battalion)
Daw Saw Mya Yazar Lin is a former member of the NCCT.

Liaison Offices
1. Kyaukaw (Rakhine State) – 3 October 2012
2. Paletwa (Chin State) – applied

Website: http://
Email: [email protected]
Phone: +959425018154

Ceasefire & Peace Process

Ceasefire: 5 April 2012
Peace talk: State level
NCA Signed: 15 Oct 2015

Clash: N/A

C-in-C: Khine Ray Khine
Lt. Col. Khine Soe Naing
Maj. Khine Myo Win
Maj. Khine Bone Myint Zaw
(Yamarwaddy battalion commander)
Capt. Khine Nay Min (deputy commander of Yamarwaddy battalion)

*Daw Saw Mra Raza Lin was a
NCCT member

Official delegation team
Daw Saw Mra Razalin (UPDJC)
Armed wing: Arakan Liberation Army (ALA)
Government name: Rakhine State Liberation Party (RSLP)


 #  Date  Location  Militia rep  Govt Rep  Details
1 4-5/04/2012 Sittwe, Rakhine Deputy Chairman U Khaing Soe Naing Aung, and ALP Joint Secretary Khine Thukha Rakhine State Minister of Security and Border Affairs Colonel Htein Lin ceasefire
2 09/09/2013 Chiang Mai, Thailand ALP UPWC-Aung Min/ Khin Yee/MPC- 13 representatives Informal meeting
3 08/11/2013 Yangon-MPC ALP UPWC technical team Informal meeting
4 09/11/2013 Yangon-MPC ALP/ ABSDF UPWC- Aung Min Informal meeting
5 16/02/2014 Yangon ALP – Secretary General – Khine Thukha U Aung Min and MPC Informa meeting
6 18/07/2014 Naypyitaw ALP – Khine Soe Naing, Saw Mya Yar Zar Lin – Minister Khin Yee, Minister Aung Min Informa meetin


  1. ceasefire beginning April 6, 2012
  2. opening of liaison offices
  3. ALP/ALA allowed freedom of movement without arms
  4. Rakhine State Liberation Party (RSLP) members also allowed to move freely without arms.


Dec 31, 2014 – ANC released a statement on 230th Lost Sovereignty Day
Jun 26, 2014 – Two ALP cadres are under detention of the Government Army since 16 June 2014, said a statement
Feb 05, 2014 – ALP leader vice president Khine Son Naing Aung interview in Voice of Arakan
Dec 04, 2012 – ALP Statement on UN third committee resolution (Burmese)
Nov 26, 2012 – Statement of Arakan Liberation Party (Burmese)
Sep 27, 2012 – ALP statement on the Arakanese Public Seminar
Sep 20, 2012 – ALP statement on present illegal Bangali problems inside Arakan
Jun 14, 2012 – Our statement (ALP statement on the crisis in Arakan state)
Jun 10, 2012 – ALP statement on current infiltration and genocide by illegal immigrants
Jun 05, 2012 – ALP statement on Sittwe-Riot
Mar 10, 2012 – 2nd annual CC meeting statement
Jan 23, 2012 – Thank statement for peace trip
Dec 31, 2011 – ALP statement on 227th National Black Day

Reference: Deciphering Myanmar’s Peace Process – A Reference Guide (2022 – 2023)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here