24 March 2023 /

See today's Peace Related News


The National Socialist Council of Nagaland-Khaplang

နာဂအမျိုးသား ဆိုရှယ်လစ်ကောင်စီ (ကပ်ပလန်)



Founded: January 1st,1980
Headquarters: Taga, Naga Self-Administered Zone, Sagaing Region.
Active Regions: Lahe, Lashe, Nanyun (Sagaing Region).
Size: Under 500

The NSCN-K has been fighting to achieve a union between Naga living in the northeast states of India and the Sagaing Region in Myanmar. In 1988, the NSCN split into two fractions; the NSCN-K led by S. S. Khaplang based in northern Lahe and Nanyun townships in Sagaing Region, Myanmar and the NSCN-IM, led by Isak Chisi Swu and Thuingaleng Muivah in India. According to the 2008 Constitution, the Leshi, Lahe and Nanyun townships in Sagaing Region are described as a Naga Self-Administered Zone. Since 2010, the NSCN-K and the Myanmar government have not engaged in armed clashes. After the ceasefire in 2012, many of their soldiers deserted.
No major developments since the ceasefire agreement and also did not participate in the
ethnic conferences. The group however did receive 15 cars for tax-free and 30 car licenses
with preferential tax rates.

Chairman: S. S. Khaplang
Secretary: Dali Mangru Ao
Commander-in-Chief: Khole Konyak

The Naga National Socialist Council (NSCN), formed in 1980 in Sagaing Region and northeastern India, split into two groups, NSCN-K) and NSCN-IM in 1988. The NSCN-K led by S. S. Khaplang, is based in Lahe, Lashe, Hkamti, and Nanyun townships in Sagaing Region, while the NSCN-IM led by Isak Chisi Swu, is based in India. Under the 2008 constitution, Lahe, Lashe, and Nanyun townships, where the groups are active, were declared the self-governing region of Naga. The group signed a ceasefire agreement at the regional level under the U Thein Sein administration on April 9th, 2012.

During the National League for Democracy (NLD)-led government, the NSCN-K participated in the 21st Century Panglong – Union Peace Conference as an observer and held some peace talks. On January 29th, 2019, about 400 troops from the Northwestern Command’s Hkamti Tactical Battalion-6 entered the Taga area where the NSCN-K headquarters is located, and the group wrote to the Commander-in-Chief of the Tatmadaw and State Counselor, demanding the withdrawal of the troops. However, the military announced in early February 2019 that it would take action against the NSCN-K for violating the peace agreement it signed with the government.

The NSCN-K issued a statement on May 27th, 2019, saying that the military’s hostile actions could confuse the government’s ceasefire efforts.

Ceasefire & Peace Process

12th ceasefire signing group.
Stage 1: State level ceasefire 9 Apr 2012
Post Ceasefire Agreement: none
Official Delegation Team: N/A



Official delegation team


Liaison offices

Khamti, Sagaing Region


 #  Date  Location  Armed Group Rep  Govt Rep  Details
1 09/04/2012 Khamti, Sagaing Region Y. Wangtin Naga and six others Sagaing Region Minister for Security and Border Affairs, Col Kyi Naing State-level
5 points ceasefire
Other govt delegates: Sagaing Chief Minister U Tha Aye
2 16/08/2013 MPC, Yangon 4 representatives from NSCN-K U Aung Min NSCN-k leaders discussed about to open a liaison office in Khamti and local development in their area.


The five points of the truce include:
(1) Cessation of armed conflict with the Myanmar army April 9, 2012
(2) Opening of a liaison office by NSCN-K at Khamti to facilitate further talks
(3) Coordination among both sides for carrying arms beyond their agreed jurisdiction
(4) Freedom of movement of unarmed NSCN-K cadres within Myanmar
(5) Holding of sustained negotiations.



ကရင် အမျိုးသား အစည်းအရုံး
မြန်မာနိုင်ငံလုံးဆိုင်ရာကျောင်းသားများ ဒီမိုကရက်တစ်တပ်ဦး
ဒီမိုကရေစီ အကျိုးပြု ကရင်တပ်မတော်
ကချင်ပြည် လွတ်လပ်ရေးအဖွဲ့
ကရင်နီ အမျိုးသားတိုးတက်ရေးပါတီ
ကူကီး အမျိုးသားအစည်းအရုံး (မြန်မာပြည်)
မြန်မာအမျိုးသားဒီမိုကရေစီမဟာမိတ်အဖွဲ့ (ကိုးကန့်တပ်ဖွဲ့)
အမျိုးသားဒီမိုကရေစီ သွေးစည်းညီညွတ်ရေးတပ်မတော်
နာဂအမျိုးသား ဆိုရှယ်လစ်ကောင်စီ (ကပ်ပလန်)
ပအို့ဝ် အမျိုးသား လွတ်မြောက်ရေး အဖွဲ့
သျှမ်းပြည် ပြန်လည်ထူထောင်ရေးကောင်စီ (သျှမ်းပြည် တပ်မတော် – တောင်ပိုင်း)
သျှမ်းပြည်တိုးတက်ရေးပါတီ (သျှမ်းပြည်တပ်မတော် – မြောက်ပိုင်း)
‘၀’ ပြည် သွေးစည်းညီညွတ်ရေးတပ်မတော်