Administrative structures are now operational in eight townships within one year of establishment, IEC chair says

Caption - IEC chair Khu Oo Reh.

Within a year of the formation of the Karenni State Interim Executive Council (IEC), administrative structures are now operational in eight townships in Karenni (Kayah) State, said IEC Chair Khu Oo Reh, in his speech to the 1st anniversary of the establishment of IEC, which falls on 6 June.

“Within a year, we were able to form a people-based administrative mechanism that includes all the people’s representatives and forces from eight townships,” said Chair Khu Oo Reh.

The Township Administrative Council formed by the IEC consists of 7 to 9 members. It also includes 4 to 6 representatives elected by the people of the respective townships, as well as three representatives from local-based ethnic resistance forces. The administrative system is currently in operation, said Khu Oo Reh.

According to the maps designated by successive governments, Karenni (Kayah) State typically comprises only 7 townships. However, under the administration of the IEC, there are plans to extend operations to encompass up to 16 townships. Presently, the administrative mechanism is active in eight townships, said U Banyar, Secretary-2 of IEC.

“We divided the state into small townships so as to govern our region more powerfully. These are interim townships. When the transition period comes, appropriate townships will be formed. We are working on the bottom-up federalism and bottom-up governance approach,” said U Banyar.

The IEC is practically exercising the federal democracy path based on self-determination, equality and autonomy. The IEC is laying the foundation for a basic administrative system for a federal democratic union, said Chair Khu Oo Reh.

The IEC, consisting of of eight departments is providing sector-specific services.

Sent by Kantarawaddy Times


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here