Lahu Democratic Union (LDU)



Established: 1 January, 1973, 1987, 1997, April 2008

Headquarters: Loilin Area, Mong Hsat District, Shan State

Strength: More than 1,000

Chair: Kyar Har

Vice-Chair: Kyar Khun Sar

General Secretary: Kyar Kaw

Kyar Solomon, the General Secretary of the Lahu Democratic Union (LDU), has said that public participation in the peace process and political discussion is the top priority, along with the implementation of development projects and the integration of the dispersed Lahu population. He said that through the peace process and political negotiations, it will progressively work towards the Lahu people’s right to self-determination.

Just as the LDU actively participated in the Peace Process Steering Team (PPST) formed after the signing of the Nationwide Ceasefire Agreement (NCA), it also engaged in meetings and negotiations with the military regime together with the PPST after the military coup.

On 22 April 2022, differences arose within the LDU over the military council’s invitation to peace talks. On 27-28 July 2022, the LDU held a central committee meeting and announced General Secretary Kyar Solomon as its new chairman. The new LDU, led by Kyar Solomon, continues to participate in PPST cluster meetings and has taken the lead in negotiations with the military council.

However, chairman Kyar Har issued a statement on 8 July 2022, saying that Kyar Solomon and the party were expelled from the LDU. He also announced on 22 August that Kyar Solomon and the party, which met the military council, did not represent the LDU.

On 10 January 2023, LDU chair Kyar Har said at the 50th Anniversary of Lahu Revolution that “the LDU will fight in alliance with Ethnic Revolutionary Organizations (EROs) and social organizations, which have the same goal until Myanmar can build a federal union.”

Reference: Deciphering Myanmar’s Peace Process – A Reference Guide (2022 – 2023)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here