5 February 2023 /

See today's Peace Related News


The Myanmar National Democratic Alliance Army

အမှန်တရားနှင့်မျှတမှုအတွက် မြန်မာအမျိုးသားပါတီ

FPNCC Member

mndaa flagmdnaa flat1


Founded: March 11th, 1989
Headquarters: Mobile Headquarters
Active Regions: Mone Koe in Kokang region, townships in Laukkai.
Size: Over 2,000

Chairman: Pheung Kya-shin

Peng Deren (Pheung Daxun)

The Myanmar National Democratic Alliance Army (MNDAA), which split from the Communist Party of Burma (CPB) and has had a ceasefire agreement with the military government since its formation in 1989, is based in Kokang Special Region (1) in Shan State. In September 2009, the ceasefire was broken and fighting between the MNDAA and the Tatmadaw (military) resumed after the Tatmadaw put pressure on the group to transform itself into a border guard force.

Although the MNDAA joined the peace process with the United Nationalities Federal Council (UNFC) under U Thein Sein administration, it was not recognized by the government as an ethnic armed group. As a result, heavy fighting broke out between the MNDAA and the Tatmadaw beginning in February 2015, and the group declared a unilateral ceasefire on June 10th, 2015.

In the second week of February 2019, clashes broke out between the group and the Tatmadaw in Kunlong Township. The MNDAA is among the four members of the Northern Alliance with the Kachin Independence Army (KIO/KIA), the Ta’ang National Liberation Army (TNLA), The Arakan Army (ULA/AA) and also in the Three Brotherhood Alliance, which includes the AA, the TNLA and the MNDAA and cooperates militarily. After the talks held in Kengtung Township on December 20th, 2019, the Three Brotherhood Alliance announced a unilateral ceasefire until the end of December.

The MNDAA, together with the United Wa State Army (UWSA)-led FPNCC, is preparing to hold non-NCA peace talks on the return of autonomy in Kokang region with the aim of achieving full civil rights for the people of Kokang. The armed group has frequent clashes with the military in Monekoe and Kutkai in northern Shan State.

Armed Wing: Myanmar National Democratic Alliance Army (MNDAA) (aka Kokang army)
Government Name: Shan State special region 1


Ceasefire & Peace Process

Non-ceasefire group
# Clashes:
2015: fighting with Tatmadaw
but an unknown exact battle number.
2016: fighting alongside northern alliance – Burma.


Gen Secretary and Commander in Chief: Peng Dern (a) Peng Daxun
Deputy Commander in Chief: Yan Wenzhou
Deputy Commander in Chief and Cheif of Staff: Peng Dejun
Spokesperson: U Tun Myat Lin

Alliance: FPNCC, Northern Alliance – Burma

Political Demands: Restoring self-administration in Kokang region; Kokang people must have ethnic rights like other ethnics and citizen rights. Leadership
U Peng Jiasheng (Patron) U Peng Deying (a) U Peng Daxun (General Secretary and
Commander in Chief) Yan Win Zhong (Deputy commander in chief) Peng Dechun (chief of staff) U Tun Myat Lin (Spokesperson)

Website: http://www.kokang123.com
Facebook: www.facebook.com/kokangarmy
Email: [email protected]

Official delegation team


Liaison offices



 #  Date  Location  Armed Group Rep  Govt Rep  Details


MNDAA sent an open letter to President Thein Sein on 16 Feb 2015. In the letter, MNDAA called for political talks.



17 October 2015 – MNDAA chairperson released 17/10 statement

10 September 2015 – AA, MNDAA and TNLA released a statement on EAOs – President meeting

05 August 2015 – AA, MNDAA and TNLA released a joint statement to call for ceasefire (Eng)

05 August 2015 – AA, MNDAA and TNLA released a joint statement to call for ceasefire (Bur)

10 June 2015 – MNDAA announced unilateral ceasefire

19 April 2015 – MNDAA released a statement of battle news

01 Mar, 2015 – MNDAA, TNLA and AA released a joint statement

16 Feb, 2015 – MNDAA sent an open letter to President Thein Sein on 16 Feb 2015


Conflict news